Asian Lettuce Wraps Made-Over

Story time! I ran a huge freezer meal club for 18 months. We met monthly and made a record breaking 220 meals in 2 hours one time (I know. We were crazy.) For more about that season of my life, see all my freezer meal posts here. During freezer meal time, I was taking my meal prepping and planning (and organizational skills lol) to the next level while simultaneously making the transition to clean eating. This led to my first experiments in writing my own recipes (or re-writing ones I found out on the internet) to suit my own family and things we like to cook with. Here’s the deal – the transition to how we eat now wasn’t completely sudden (though I can definitely identify certain decisions where we made more of a sweeping move than a gradual one). Rather, it can better be described as tackling one thing at a time, one recipe at a time, one meal at a time. Baby steps got us as a family to where we are now.

6a00d8341ef22f53ef01311008bfb7970c-500wiFreezer meal club hasn’t been meeting for awhile now (miss you ladies!) but I do get cravings for certain meals that we made OVER and OVER and haven’t had in awhile from time to time. I have some killer romaine lettuce right now in my garden and I thought about how badly I REALLY wanted Asian Lettuce Wraps with it. So I opened up the recipe. And there it was. Hoisin sauce. Something I don’t really want to cook with anymore 😦 Why? Check out the first ingredient in the ingredient list… SUGAR! We’ve done a really good job with eating very little sugar, especially in our meals (some of the kids snacks are still a work in progress) and so I wanted to come up with an alternative. If I eat sugar, I want it to be chocolate. Or ice cream. Or something completely and utterly delicious. But hiding in my everyday meals? Nope, no thanks. One thing at a time, right?

Enter, my new Asian Lettuce Wraps recipe. #BOOM

Ingredients
2 lb ground turkey, browned
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 onion, chopped
2t minced garlic
6T reduced sodium soy sauce (reduced sodium is really important!) OR coconut aminos
2T natural peanut butter
1T honey
2t rice wine vinegar
2t sesame oil
1/4t garlic powder
1t ginger
6 green onions, sliced thinly
1 head of “large leaf” romaine lettuce (this isn’t actually a thing just look for some sizable romaine)

Directions

  1. Brown your turkey, chopping it up well in the pan.
  2. Add bell pepper and onion to pan and saute until onions are translucent.
  3. Mix the garlic, soy sauce/coconut aminos, peanut butter, honey, rice wine vinegar, sesame oil, garlic powder and ginger together. Pour into pan and stir well to coat. When making sauce with peanut butter, I really like to warm it up a little so I can mix it together well before I add it to the pan. I mix my sauce up in a glass pyrex measuring cup and then right before I add it to the pan I hold it over the pan so it steams it up a little. Then I whisk it all together right before adding. 
  4. Once heated through, add the green onions to the top
  5. Serve with large romaine leaves and alongside cauliflower fried rice! YUM!

Do those look amazing or what!?!?

THEY WERE! (And I’ve got leftovers…. wheee!)

Makes 8 servings – 21 Day Fix container conversion – 1 red, 1/2 green, 1 orange, 1 teaspoon

Have a recipe you want “made over”? Let me know! I’d be glad to take a look at it and make suggestions!

 

Leave a Reply

