My Mason Jar Experiment

mason-jar-salad-anatomyWith some new mason jars in my pantry, and a friend who is a raving fan of mason jar salads, I’ve been wanting to give these a try for ages! Finally, I did!

Looking for some inspiration, I loosely followed this guide from The Two Bite Club in terms of how I would be assembling my jars. I had all my normal salad “staples” and went to work!

Since I tend to use some fruit in my salads from time to time, I included fruits (like berries/apples/etc.) in the “soft veggies” category. Also, I added a small piece of paper towel folded at the top of the jar to capture any moisture that got trapped inside the jar to help keep them fresh. I do this with my bags of lettuce that I wash and bag/seal up too, to help keep them fresh for the week.

I just started with all the things i use to make salads throughout the week pulled out and spread out on the counter. I didn’t really have a plan per se.

The hardest part about this “winging it” method was figuring out what dressings to use. I’m not a huge dressing person honestly. Give me a teaspoon of olive oil and a drizzle of balsamic and I’m good. And on my Mexican-type salads, I usually just use a little salsa instead of dressing to spice it up. I did whip up some of the “Fixate” honey mustard salad dressing to use on a couple of these though, in the name of trying something new.

Another nice thing about making all my salads at once was measuring my  containers for several meals all at one time! I just jotted it down on a piece of paper in case I forgot what I put in each one. Cass enjoyed helping with this part. She actually kind of seems to know what foods go in what container, too 🙂

Look at them! So so pretty, as Cassidy would say. And so delicious!

My biggest question was “is it going to taste fresh!?” And the answer was a resounding yes! I ate my last one on Friday (prepared these on Sunday) and it tasted like I’d just put it together. I also loved the convenience of everything in the jar. Made packing lunch on workdays sooo easy.
  

I will definitely be assembling more mason jar salads in my future! Maybe not every single week, but alternating weeks to keep it interesting. Or maybe just putting like three together so I’m not eating one every day but do have them for convenience. I get bored with food so I don’t want to burn out on ’em.

The only adjustment I would make would be to keep my main protein out of the salad (unless I’m doing like a chef salad or something with definitely cold meats). I realized I do really like my protein to be warmed up most often, and since I usually have chicken breast strips on hand in my freezer and ground turkey pre-cooked for the week in my fridge, it shouldn’t be too difficult to measure out a red container of protein, heat it up, dump my jar and add my warmed protein to it. Other than a preference of tastes, there was not WRONG with having the meat in there, though!

Leave a Reply

