…because its all about the sides

Thanksgiving, Turkey Day, whatever you want to call it is coming and while the big bird gets a lot of the attention, its really all about the sides and desserts right?! We will be spending Thanksgiving at my Mom and Dad’s as my Mom whips up her traditional T-Day meal and Mike, the kids and I get to spend time with the whole fam. Since I am NOT cooking on Thanksgiving, but wanted to give you some options of things you might add to YOUR menu, I played around in kitchen tonight 🙂

And since I’m not cooking a turkey for me, a friend and my two unpredictable small children, our protein was plain ol’ chicken breasts. On to the more exciting things. The sides. The good, the “eh” and the “I don’t look bad but I sure ain’t good.”

First up. THIS. Oh my goodness. Called a “holiday butternut bake”, I knew I wanted to try it right away. I have been in love with butternut squash this fall and yea, my house smelled beyond amazing while this baked. I used more cinnamon than the recipe called for, double the apples that it called for and me, my friend and the kids gobbled this entire tray down. If I made this for a crowd, I would make like three of four times this batch. Recipe cred here thanks to the gracious pantry.  We call this “the good” (or the great!)

Then we have the “eh”. Mashed potatoes right? Nah. This is cauliflower! Cauliflower is one of the most versatile things you’ll ever come across. It really does a great job masquerading as a potato type dish. And while I enjoy it as a low carb staple (sometimes I’ll make it and have it with a steak and some steamed veggies) I’m not sure I’d vote this in to the Thanksgiving feast. (Here’s the super simple recipe I use.)

Then…. there’s this. Paleo pumpkin pie… (NO link to recipe for this one). I made the coconut flour crust and baked it. First off the crust looked like WAY too much so I scooped a bunch out. It was STILL a ton as when I cut into that sucker it was more crust than pumpkin 😦 The flavor of the pumpkin filling was the better part of the dish. It was recommended to have a “coconut milk whipped cream” with it so I did that. It looked ok at first but melted quickly….

All that to be said, this may LOOK like pumpkin pie but don’t be fooled. Grab one small piece of your aunt’s pumpkin pie, top it with the real deal and move on. I can’t in good faith recommend you replacing the Thanksgiving fav with this 🙂


Main point of my night? Make the holiday butternut bake and a few other clean eating dishes for your meal. Will there be some richer and indulgent things on the table too? I bet there will be. I know there will be on mine. Dish out some modest portions, don’t overdo it on anything, and I’ll see you in my next challenge group hitting it hard the Monday after Thanksgiving 🙂

Leave a Reply

