Paleo enchilada chicken casserole 

One of my freezer meals from this past month was a paleo enchilada chicken stew. I heard it was a *little* on the spicy side and I wanted a fun Cinco de Mayo meal so I took what I had put together and reworked it in a fun way!

First I started by making a simple cauliflower rice. My method? I like to put it through the food processor with the “grate” attachment and voila, ready to cook or prepare. Many of the ingredients were frozen in my meal, so I thawed it overnight and poured it in a baking dish to cook. I added some black beans, too.

Then I baked it for about a half hour, removed the chicken , shredded it, returned it to the casserole and gave it a good stir. Then I topped it with a whole bunch of cheese and returned it to the oven to bake until bubbly. Yummo!

Ingredients

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 c chopped onion
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 4oz can chopped jalapenos (I would reduce this to 1/2 can next time!)
2 T coconut oil
1 14oz can diced tomatoes w/ green chiles
1 7oz can tomato sauce
1 ½ t minced garlic
1 T cumin
1 T chili powder
2 t oregano
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
3 cups shredded cheddar cheese
1 head of cauliflower, chopped into florets and “riced” in food processor

Directions

Spray 9×13 pain with non-stick cooking spray (I like to use a coconut oil one).
Mix all ingredients except for cheese and cauliflower in a bowl.
Layer cauliflower rice (or regular brown rice, if using) on bottom of dish.
Pour rest of ingredients over rice.
Bake 30 min.
Remove chicken breasts, shred and return to dish. Top with cheese.
Return to oven for 10-15 minutes until melted and bubbly!

Freezer Meal Instructions

Put everything except cheese and cauliflower in a bag.
When ready to prepare, thaw overnight.
Assemble just as described above!

Leave a Reply

