Cauliflower Fried Rice

I seriously never ever would have thought cauliflower would be a staple in my house. I’m pretty sure I’ve gone through more cauliflower in any four week period from the last several months than any four YEAR period prior to last fall! We eat a ton of it. It’s so versatile! This week I made one of my favorite, cauliflower “fried” rice to go nicely with one of my favorite Asian freezer meals, honey sesame chicken. But seriously, you can make this “rice” and add some shredded chicken (or not!) and its a COMPLETE meal all on its own. Amazing.

First, you grate up the cauliflower. I do this quickly by doing it on my food processor with the same grater attachment I use to shred cheese in there. Set that aside and heat up a generous tablespoon of coconut oil in a skillet. Saute your onions and other veggies that you’ll have in there (this week it was just onions, garlic, diced carrots and frozen peas for me). After the onions are translucent, add in the cauliflower, scrambled eggs and soy sauce. I like to dirty as few pans as possible, so I usually move the onions, carrots and peas to one side and scramble the eggs on the other side of the pan. Then I add the cauliflower and soy sauce. Cook until heated through!

Ingredients

1 head cauliflower, grated
1 TB coconut oil
1 onion, diced
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 c frozen peas
3/4 c diced carrots
2 eggs, scrambled
3 or 4 TB low sodium soy sauce

2 thoughts on “Cauliflower Fried Rice

  1. Pingback: Cauliflower Rice Tutorial | One Day At A Time

  2. Pingback: Asian Lettuce Wraps Made-Over | One Day At A Time

Leave a Reply

